The Cashier’s Office is located in the Dogwood Building, office 140. The office can be reached at 919 739-7090 or 919 739-7093. For tuition payments, we accept personal checks, money orders, and VISA or Mastercard debit and credit cards. Please visit Financial Aid for information on tuition assistance.
Tuition Per Semester
Tuition for students taking fewer than 16 semester hours is $72.00 per semester hour for in-state students and $264.00 per semester hour for out-of-state students. Students enrolled for six or more semester hours credit will be charged a $30 student activity fee and a $16 technology fee; those enrolled for less than six semester hours will be charged a $15 student activity fee and an $8 technology fee. No student activity will be charged during the Summer Term.
Note: Tuition is set by State Policy and subject to change without notice.
Residence Classification for Tuition Purposes
Under North Carolina law, a person may qualify as a resident for tuition purposes in North Carolina, thereby being eligible for a tuition rate lower than that for nonresidents. Copies of the applicable law and of regulations for implementation are available for inspection in the Learning Resource Center and may be examined upon request.
In essence, the controlling North Carolina Statute (G.S. 116-143.1) requires that “to qualify as a resident for tuition purposes, a person must have established legal residence (domicile) in North Carolina and maintained that legal residence for at least 12 months immediately prior to his or her classification as a resident for tuition purposes.”
Payment of Fees
- Tuition and fees for each semester are payable on or before the date of registration. Any student who is unable to make payment at that time must make a special arrangement with the Financial Aid Office.
- A student who has an outstanding balance due to the College is not eligible for registration. This includes any outstanding balance at another institution of the community college system.
- No student will be allowed to graduate or to receive a diploma, certificate, or transcript of his record, nor will any information concerning his record be forwarded to any other institution or other person, so long as the delinquent account is outstanding.
- Starting Fall 2014, a payment plan option is available for students paying for their tuition and fees.
Tuition Refund Policy – Curriculum Students
Effective Fall 1994-95, a refund shall not be made except under the following circumstances:
- A 100 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws prior to first day of class(es) of the academic
semester as noted in the college calendar. Also, a student is eligible for a 100 percent refund if the class in which the student is officially registered fails to “make” due to insufficient enrollment.
- A 75 percent refund shall be made if the student officially with- draws from the class(es) prior to or on the official 10 percent point of the semester.
- For classes beginning at times other than the first week (seven calendar days) of the semester, a 100 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from the class prior to the first class meeting. A 75 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from the class prior to or on the 10 percent point of the class.
- For contact hour classes, ten calendar days from the date of the first class meeting is the determination date.
To comply with applicable federal regulations regarding refunds, federal regulations will supersede the state refund regulations stated in the rule.
Where a student, having paid the required tuition for a semester, dies during that semester (prior to or on the last day of examinations of the college the student was attending), all tuition and fees for that semester may be refunded to the estate of the deceased.
Financial Aid Title IV Refund
If students withdraw or reduce course load during the drop/add period of the semester, they may be required to repay some or all of their student financial aid. If students withdraw from college or cease attending classes prior to the 60% point of the semester, they will be responsible for the repayment of the Federal Pell Grant and any other Title IV grants received. Failure to repay student financial aid can result in a “tagged record”. Having a “tagged record” prevents students from receiving financial aid in future semesters.
Student Activity Fee Refund Policy-Curriculum Students
A 100 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws prior to the first day of class(es) of the academic semester as noted in the college calendar. Also, a student is eligible for 100 percent refund if the class in which the student is officially registered fails to “make” due to insufficient enrollment.
Note: Tuition refunds and student activity refunds will not be considered for amounts of ($5) or less, except when a course or curriculum fails to materialize; then all the students’ tuition shall be refunded.
An audit fee of $72.00 per semester hour for in-state students and $264.00 per semester hour for out-of-state students must be paid except in the case of full-time (16 semester hours) students who may audit with no additional charge.
Credit by Examination
A fee for credit by examination of $72.00 per semester hour for in-state students and $264.00 per semester hour for out-of-state students must be paid except in the case of full-time students (16 semester hours) for whom there would be no additional charge.
Applicants for graduation must purchase their caps, gowns, and diplomas. These items must be purchased when the application for graduation is processed.
Student Accident Insurance is now provided for every student enrolled in a curriculum program at no cost to the students. Students enrolled in the nursing programs must provide evidence of coverage by Health Insurance.
Textbooks and Supplies
Students must purchase textbooks and other necessary supplies. For their convenience, the College maintains a bookstore where these items may be purchased. The cost of these items varies according to the program of study taken by the student.
Licensure and Examination Fees
Several of the programs at Wayne Community College lead toward graduation in fields which require an examination or a series of examinations in order to work or practice. National and/or state certification of skills and competencies is important in obtaining employment. The trend in recent years is toward more examinations in more fields. The following information summarizes the current status of examination requirements.
|Aviation||Oral & Practical Exams||$475.00|
|FAA Final Written Exams||$180.00|
|Air Conditioning & Refrigeration||Refrigeration Exam||$ 50.00|
|Refrigerant Certification||$ 25.00|
|Dental Assisting||Dental Assisting National Board||$340.00|
|Dental Hygiene||Council of the National Board of Dental Examiners||$285.00|
|N.C. State Board Exams||$75.00|
|or Regional Boards (CITA)||$1,200.00 – $1,225.00|
|Practical Nursing||National Council Licensure Exam-PN||$308.00|
|Associate Degree Nursing||National Council Licensure Exam-RN||$308.00|
|Phlebotomy||American Society for Clinical Pathology PBT (ASCP)||$100.00|
|Medical Assisting||American Assoc. for Medical Assistants AAMA – CMA||$95.00|