Honor Society Inducts New Members

Wayne Community College’s Upsilon Chi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, has inducted 62 students into its membership in its fall 2013 ceremony.

Phi Theta Kappa members represent the top 10 percent of students enrolled in two-year schools. To be invited into the society, WCC students must show academic achievement with a minimum grade point average of 3.5. They must have completed at least 16 hours of associate degree course work and demonstrate good citizenship characteristics.

The new members and their majors are

Graciela Diaz, Applied Animal Science; and
Tiffany Lee, Buck, Medical Office Administration

Amanda Marie Wheaton, Associate in Arts;
Amber R. Denning, Associate in Science; and
Danita Antionette Robinson, Medical Assisting

Timothy Miles Pleasant, Associate in Science

Briana M. Marshall, Associate in Arts;
Bridget Colleen Cisneros, Associate in Arts;
Christian Michael Lanning, Simulation and Game Development;
Christopher Eugene Bailey, Associate in Science;
Christopher Lee Hartley, Agribusiness;
D’Angelo Antonio Delarosa, Associate in Arts;
Dewitt Nelson Thompson, Energy Management;
Diego Carreno, Associate in Science;
Elizabeth Audelo, Criminal Justice;
Gloria Jean Richardson, Early Childhood Education;
Grayson Elizabeth Collins, Associate in Arts;
Harold Lloyd Clay, Associate in Science;
Jennifer McCabe, Early Childhood Education;
Joseph Alexander Morris, Mechanical Engineering;
Joshua Michael Hollowell, Associate in Arts;
Kasey Marie West, Early Childhood Education;
Katherine Jean Smith, Associate in Arts;
Keith Phillip Ashford, Mechanical Engineering;
Madison Nicole Huf, Associate in Arts;
Mandisa Sharna Thompson, Associate Degree Nursing;
Maria Mandujano, Associate in Arts;
Maria Dawn Morris, Associate Degree Nursing;
Mary Anita VanNoske, Human Services;
Nathan Jesse Trent, Criminal Justice/Latent Evidence;
Rizk A. Alghorazi, Associate in Science;
Savannah Reed Goulet, Associate in Science;
Scott Jeffrey Schinsky, Computer-Integrated Machining;
Seely Joseph Nixon, Computer Information; and
Yousef Amin Saleh, Associate in Science

Chenita Vonte Hickman, Human Services; and
Heather Jarman, Applied Animal Science

La Grange
Benjamin James Sizemore, Mechanical Engineering;
Heather Rae Frey, Associate in Arts;
Brittney Chanice Parks, Dental Hygiene; and
Melissa Ann Exum, Criminal Justice/Latent Evidence

Sara Kristen Stone, Forest Management

Mount Olive
James Logan Mullen, Associate in Arts;
Kaitlyn Brianna Kmucha, Associate in Arts; and
Matthew Scott Cox, Mechanical Engineering

Brittany Gayle Parrish, Associate Degree Nursing;
Crystal Elizabeth Lefkowitz, Associate in Arts;
Dawn Gatzke, Medical Office Administration;
George Alexander Rollins, Associate in Arts;
Kaitlyn Elizabeth Wright, Business Administration;
Katie M. Johnson, Associate in Arts;
Kemyatta Tamika Logan, Business Administration;
Ruth Leigh Thompson, Medical Office Administration;
Stephanie Wolfe Weaver, Associate in Arts;
Tiffany Brooke Godwin, Associate in Arts; and
Tony Calvin Murphy, Forest Management

Miguel Damian Lopez, Simulation and Game Development; and
William Joseph Howard, Industrial Systems

Seven Springs
Amanda Dee Rouse, Associate Degree Nursing; and
Ashley Renee Hildebrand, Medical Office Administration

Brittany Nicole Moorhead, Associate in Science

James Eugene Skelton, Human Services

Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages scholarship by providing opportunities for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate, lively fellowship for scholars, and stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Wayne Community College is a public, two-year college with an open-door admission policy located in Goldsboro, N.C. As it works to develop a highly skilled and competitive workforce, it serves 15,000 individuals annually as well as businesses, industry and community organizations with high quality, affordable, accessible learning opportunities, including more than 100 college credit programs.

Follow WCC on Facebook and Twitter.