Honor Society Inducts New Members

Spring 2014 inductees into the Upsilon Chi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa

Spring 2014 inductees into the Upsilon Chi Chapter
of Phi Theta Kappa

Wayne Community College’s Upsilon Chi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, has inducted 41 students into its membership in its spring 2014 ceremony, held April 3.

Phi Theta Kappa members represent the top 10 percent of students enrolled in two-year schools. To be invited into the society, WCC students must show academic achievement with a minimum grade point average of 3.5. They must have completed at least 16 hours of associate degree course work and demonstrate good citizenship characteristics.

The new members and their majors are

Curtis W. Lewis, Networking

Four Oaks
Curtis W. Russell, Criminal Justice

Bryanna C. Demeritt, Associate in Science
Christopher B. Easom, Associate in Arts
Marissa N. Gilmour, Associate in Arts
Anna H. Hawley, Associate Degree Nursing
Sharon D. Johnson, Medical Office Administration
Whitney M. Joyner, Simulation and Game Development
Shelby L. Livesay, Associate in Arts
Kyle J. Meyer, Associate in Science
Alexis B.Mitchell, Associate in Arts
Norman B. Mitchell, Associate in Arts
Tammy A. Moses, Early Childhood
Morgan Powell, Associate in Science
Jaclyn P. Robinson, Associate in Arts
Tara A. Rodriguez, Associate in Arts
Joleen Scheer, Medical Office Administration
Stephanie N. Stroud, Associate in Arts
Chikita M. Thompson, Early Childhood
Kristy L. Ware, Medical Office Administration

Sean E. Gough, Forest Management; and
Sandy M. Olmsted, Dental Hygiene

Samuel J. Kornegay, Emergency Preparedness

La Grange
Mark A. Barnett, Computer-Integrated Machining; and
Mary K. Thornton, Associate in Arts

Mount Olive
Robert B. Hunt, Associate in Science

Jacob G. Dawson, Associate in Science;
Joseph M. Greer, Computer-Integrated Machining;
Samantha C. Grzybek, Associate in Arts;
Danielle M. Gutierrez, Associate in Arts;
Ashley L. Horne, Associate in Arts;
Robert P. Jennette, Associate in Science;
Jannae L. Martin, Associate in General Education;
Joshua T. Mooring, Computer Information and Networking; and
Jessica W. Smith, Associate in Arts

Mary K. Hyslop, Medical Office Administration

Seven Springs
Janelle M. Barbour, Accounting and Business Administration

Brion T. Kennedy, Associate in Arts

Snow Hill
Daniel L. Gurganious, Associate in Arts

Elizabeth H. Kennedy, Associate in Arts

Randy M. Gardner, Automotive Systems (ATEP)

Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages scholarship by providing opportunities for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate, lively fellowship for scholars, and stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Wayne Community College is a public, two-year college with an open-door admission policy located in Goldsboro, N.C. As it works to develop a highly skilled and competitive workforce, it serves 15,000 individuals annually as well as businesses, industry and community organizations with high quality, affordable, accessible learning opportunities, including more than 100 college credit programs.

Follow WCC on Facebook and Twitter.