Board of Trustees

North Carolina community college Boards of Trustees hold their authority from GS 115D, Article 2. The law prescribes the appoint of members, describes the board’s powers and duties, and includes other details about the board’s activities.

The members of the Wayne Community College Board of Trustees, appointment date (terms of four years), and appointing agency are:

Donald Barnes, Chair (July 1, 2015. County Commissioners.)

Geoffrey Hulse, Vice Chair (July 1, 2018. Governor.)

Wayne Aycock Jr. (July 1, 2015. County Commissioners.)

Kay F. Cooke (January 31, 2019. Governor.)

Jimmie E. Ford (December 12, 2017. Governor.)

Deborah Harris (July 17, 2018. County Commissioners.)

David Jackson (May 6, 2014. County Commissioners.)

Veda McNair (July 1, 2005. Board of Education.)

Wanda Nieves (August 27, 2018. Board of Education.)

M. Keith Stewart (August 2, 1993. Board of Education.)

Dr. David T. Tayloe, Jr. (July 18, 2017. Governor.)

Adrian Worrell (July 1, 2019. Board of Education.)

Luke Barefoot, SGA President (WCC Student Body)

Secretary to the Board:
Dr. Thomas A. Walker, Jr., President

Assistant Secretary to the Board:
Amber Tyler, Senior Executive Assistant to the President

Board Attorney:
Philip A. Baddour, Jr.

Wayne Community College’s Board of Trustees conducts its regular meetings on the third Tuesday of January, March May, July, September, and November. The meetings, which are open to the public, are held at 6 p.m. in Room 101 of the Walnut Building on the college’s main campus located at 3000 Wayne Memorial Drive in Goldsboro.  Due to COVID restrictions, space is limited and the public is asked to watch the live stream.  To watch live click the BOT Meetings link in the More Information Related to Board of Trustees section.

Board committee meetings are held in the week prior to the Board meeting.

View the full schedule of Board and committee meetings. (PDF)

More Information related to Board of Trustees

Other Information related to Administration